I've mentioned before that I bloody love original Scooby Doo. I like the character designs, the set pieces, the charm, some of the gags but not most of them and the awesome themed villains. I also really enjoyed this because it had Batman and Robin in it.
![]() |
| I always found Velma way hotter than Daphne |
The animation itself doesn't have much going for it. The animators reuse material like crazy in walk cycles, which is very effective since eighty per cent of the whole show is just characters walking along a 2D plain chatting about 1960s things. Also, whenever the characters speak, it's just their mouth moving. Their eyes stare blankly into the distance and their bodies remain dead still. Y'know, just like how people interact in REAL LIFE. Except they don't because it would be creepy.
I suppose you do what you can when your budget for the whole film is a packet of digestives left over from a Hanna Barbera staff meeting. HAVING SAID THAT I really like the hand painted backgrounds. They are absolute works of art in themselves.
The lesson I can learn from this is to create broad and interesting characters, no matter how small a role they play. I can't imagine Professor Blokey bloke having much of a backstory or wife, at least not for long before she caves his skull in with a heavy road atlas fifteen minutes into a car journey together. It doesn't make me invested in him.
But having said that, to conclude, it's Scooby Doo. Anyone who complains about not being invested in the characters has more of a problem with themselves than the show, Plus it was made in 1972, so it was probably the first animation ever made or something so it deserves some respect for that. I bloody loved most of it!

No comments:
Post a Comment